Am I Really a Good Writer?

My writing often undergoes the highest of compliments and I mention this NOT in an ostentatious manner. I don’t really understand why people say I write well; yeah, sure, I know the fundamentals of basic writing, but so do thousands of people in America. I am nothing special and my pieces of work often consists of topics that I think are amazing, but also often end up as things I can hardly write a thousand words about.

There are a myriad of ways my writing is absolutely atrocious. Sometimes, I don’t even know what to write about. I also procrastinate too much. When I have an idea, it often comes when I’m playing video games, oddly. After I finish with a level, I forget about what I wanted to write about. Don’t even get started about my sentence structure. I realized I have been using WAY too many commas, and although I’m trying to change that, (see what I mean?) I just love making my sentences filled with commas. I do not have perfect grammar and I definitely lack word diction; sometimes I look up synonyms because I feel too repetitive.

Yet, people still bombard me with generous comments about my essays and writing. Some people say I write well and others firmly believe I know everything about grammar – which I don’t. I do not believe I deserve the praise I receive from people. Besides, I’m only seventeen years old. I love the flattery but all of it only makes me wonder more: am I truly a good writer?

About khong91493

an avid, yet not typical, teenager.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

